Skip to content

Panini America’s Black Friday Contest: Tell Us What Cards You’re Most Thankful For

November 24, 2011

As the hype surrounding the groundbreaking Panini America Black Friday promotion continued on a buzz-generating crescendo this week, one of the prevailing questions from readers of The Knight’s Lance has been: “How can we win some of those sweet Black Friday cards?” Well, you’re about to find out.

In fact, we’re not going to give you just one way to win on this splendid Thanksgiving day. We’re going to give you two (one you can enter here, and the other you can enter on our Facebook page), both asking a simple question of our own: “What Panini America card in your collection are you most thankful for?”

Below, you’ll find a gallery of 20 or so cool cards from the special Panini America Black Friday set. Which one would you be most thankful to add to your collection? Simply tell us with a comment on that particular card in the gallery and you just might win it. To get things started, I’ve commented on the card I’d be most thankful to win — unfortunately, I’m not eligible. That’s your first way to win.

Now, onto the Panini America Facebook portion of our contest. Simply post an image of the one Panini America card in your collection your most thankful for on our Facebook page. Again, to get things started, I’ve posted my selection on our Facebook page — again, I’m not eligible to win. All posts here on The Knight’s Lance and on the Panini Facebook page will be eligible to win one of the more than 20 total prizes up for grabs in this spectacular Black Friday contest, including Black Friday autograph cards, memorabilia cards and packs. The contest will run through Sunday.

Good luck. And from everyone here at Panini America, Happy Thanksgiving. We have so many wonderful blessings to be thankful for today and every day, but our loyal collectors are high on the list.

158 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon Martin permalink
    November 25, 2011 7:55 am

    I’m most thankful for not just one card but a whole set. I am thankful for my 2010-11 Limited Phenoms hockey cards. I have 47 out of 50 and I have to say that my favourite one is Tyler Seguin which I very recently acquired.

    • Jon Martin permalink
      November 25, 2011 12:25 pm

      Oh and I would be real thankful to win that nice Tyler Seguin you’ve got up there with Taylor Hall. They are beauties!!

  2. Ric Knapp permalink
    November 25, 2011 7:59 am

    We would be thankful, my daughter and I , for the Greg Jennings Super Bowl XLV card. This was Lexie’s first time watching the Packers in the Super Bowl and for a 13 year old girl she is a die-hard Packer Fan. Thank you very much for the chance to win!!

  3. Marcus Swanson permalink
    November 25, 2011 9:55 am

    I am Thankful for my entire Packers collection and that Panini was able to get Charles Woodson to sign autographs. I have been waiting a very long time to get an auto of him in his Packers uniform.

  4. Nathan Bannister permalink
    November 25, 2011 10:18 am

    I am most thank for this card:

    It is the first Panini produced card I pulled of my favorite player Jason Kidd. It was the first of many awesome Jason Kidd cards that Panini has produced.

    Of the Black Friday cards shown I think the Aaron Rodgers ball card has to be the best. I currently only collect Rodgers rookie cards but I think I would make an exception for that beautiful card.

  5. {A} permalink
    November 25, 2011 11:22 am

    I am most thankful for my Wes Welker Panini Gridiron card. I am an avid football card collecter and hope to add some Tom Brady and Tim Tebow cards to my collection soon. :)

  6. Jaymen permalink
    November 25, 2011 12:07 pm

    I am thankful for everything basketball cards because panini is the only basketball card maker! PANINI ROCKS

  7. Miguel Lopez permalink
    November 25, 2011 12:13 pm

    I am thankful for not getting my Dexter McCluster Certified redemption one year later. Thanks Panini you rock.

  8. Mark B permalink
    November 25, 2011 12:28 pm

    I am most thankful for my 10 11 Certified Hockey Freshman Fabrics Mirror Gold /25 and regular /499 jersey auto of JORDAN EBERLE.

    I bought a few boxes last year when certified just came out, and happened to pull both of the above cards. At this time I was not an Eberle collector, so I tried for quite a while to sell them on Ebay. I guess I was asking too much for them, so they didnt sell and I decided to keep them in my personal collection that consisted of random cards I “Liked” for their uniqueness.
    I had them displayed on a shelf in my room along with my other cards, and later on in the year, I decided that I wanted to pick a player to focus my collection on. The only problem is, I couldnt decide WHO that player was going to be. I thought for months about who I would collect, and finally as I was looking at the cards on my shelf, it hit me. Those 2 Eberle cards were what started my collecting obsession with Jordan Eberle.
    They were the first cards in my Eberle collection and among my most treasured because they were what finally made me decide who I wanted to collect! Sure, they arent the most expensive and prettiest cards in my PC, but they are the ones Im most thankful for, because if I had sold them when I was trying to, I probably never would have decided to start an Eberle collection !!!

    • Mark B permalink
      November 25, 2011 2:10 pm

      Well, I guess Panini asked 2 questions in their posting which card are you most thankful for in your collection, and which card youd be thankful for to receive. I guess the card id be most thankful for from the BLACK FRIDAY card list would obviously be the Taylor Hall Rookies and Stars (?) patch auto. Or anything Eberle!

  9. Jamey permalink
    November 25, 2011 12:36 pm

    I am thankful that I have a job, as a Youth Services Librarian that permits me to make a difference and have a positive impact upon the community I serve. Further, I can and have managed to convey the passion I have for Trading Card collecting to many of the kids. I bring in my cards to show, and often use cards from my collection and Blaster Boxes as prizes for programs, particularly the statewide, annual Summer Reading Program.
    In turn, this community has become a very nice component to my collecting experience!
    Happy Black Friday to all! …and the Drew Brees Black Friday Pro-Bowl auto/patch is a sweet issue!

    • Scott W. Prusha permalink*
      November 25, 2011 2:23 pm

      Well said and thanks for spreading the passion you have…

  10. Mark Wassel permalink
    November 25, 2011 1:00 pm

    Most thankful for my complete set of 10/11 Contenders Hockey.Master set with all the auto’s, even the short prints. My second best is my 2010 Certified Immortals Emmitt Smith Auto patch #/10. Got that as a replacement from your customer service.That’s what it’s all about great people at customer service that care for the collectors.

  11. November 25, 2011 2:00 pm

    I think I missed some of the details originally on this contest…….my corrected answer is………..I’d be most thankful to have the Troy Polamalu card. I am a Lions fan first and foremost, but my girlfriend is a DIE-HARD Steelers fan and her favorite is Polamalu. Since I’ve been with her I have watched more Steelers game than ever and have grown to love Polamalu as much as he does for his hard work on the field and his attitude off. He is what every athlete should model their game and life after.

  12. Kevin permalink
    November 25, 2011 5:05 pm

    First of all I am thankful for Panini and the great cards you guys produce. I thankyou first off for just posting this contest it is awsome. I would be most thankful to win the Prince Amukamara Auto Jersey card because I am a DIE HARD Giants fan and would love to add that to my G-Men collection. Especially since he had an Interception on his first play in the NFL vs. the Eagels last week. He is a great player and that card is awsome. Even if i dont win the card or any of the cards I thank Panini for doing this contest and for putting out awsome cards.

  13. jaymes hori permalink
    November 25, 2011 5:41 pm

    I would be most thankful for the Manning Pro Bowl card…because like the pro bowl that card would be returning home. TO HAWAII!!!

  14. Joseph Ngo permalink
    November 25, 2011 6:30 pm

    I am most thankful for my 2009-10 Crown Royale Kobe Bryant Majestic Signatures that I pulled on my first box of Crown Royale. My most prized possession and my most lucrative pull ever.

  15. John W permalink
    November 25, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m thankful for my Dominion Jordan Eberle Jersey Auto :)

    I would love to get the Taylor Hall auto to add to mt collection. Gotta love those talented kids in Edmonton!

  16. Timmy Yan permalink
    November 26, 2011 12:49 am

    I’m thankful for my Matt Cassel Panini Thread 3clr Prime Patch – likely from the Letter of the E off his nameplate. Matt Cassel is one of my favorite players because he is the underdog story of the NFL. Hardly playing any snaps in college and making a name for himself in the league. Although I may never own a Letterman card of his, it’s good to know I can still get a piece of it via Panini Prime Memorabilia cards.

  17. Brad permalink
    November 26, 2011 2:54 am

    I am most thankful for my 2010 Certified Peyton Manning Fabric of the Game Patch Auto serial numbered 8/10 and my 2010 National Treasures Joe Montana Emblems of the Hall Patch Auto serial numbered 15/15. I have gotten both of these from breaks on blogtv. It’s always nice to get an awesome card from a break that you would otherwise have to pay hundreds for.

  18. Anthony C permalink
    November 26, 2011 4:47 am

    I think I read the instructions incorrectly the first time. So here we go again. Of the posted images, I’d be most thankful for the signed patch cards of Tyler Seguin and Taylor Hall. They are huge rising stars in the NHL and I have a lot of respect for their games. They would be the perfect pair of cards for my collection. I can see them side-by-side in my display case already.

  19. Kazi permalink
    November 26, 2011 6:39 am

    just thankful for Panini America–hacw collected Panini stickers since t he ’79 World Championships hockey–

  20. eric permalink
    November 26, 2011 10:28 am

    i am thankful for my demarcus cousins national treasures jersey/patch/jersey card. i am thankful for it because he is my favorite player. that set looks really nice also

  21. November 26, 2011 1:25 pm

    I’m thankful for my Tyler Seguin RC and would be even more thankful for that auto! Thanks!

  22. Brad Rabig permalink
    November 26, 2011 1:37 pm

    I am most thankful for this Panini card. Great card design, one of my favorite players, and it’s not your ordinary memorabilia card.

  23. November 26, 2011 2:13 pm

    The card that I would be most thankful for is the Greg Jennings Super Bowl XLV pylon patch card. To me, it is more than just a Super Bowl Memoribilia card, it is a representation of the adversity that the Packers overcame during the season to get to the Super Bowl which was a great achievement in itself. The team had to bind together to overcome injuries thoughout the season and through the Super Bowl itself. Football is the ultimate team sport and the Packers showed how magical a season can be when a team comes together.

    The card would also be a great centerpiece addition to my existing Packers collection. Thanks for the great contest and for the chance to win! These cards will certainly make a few lucky collectors very happy!

  24. Jess G permalink
    November 26, 2011 2:53 pm

    I would be thankful for any of these cards or a chance at some packs. I do though would be very thankful for the Philip Rivers probowl auto jersey or the Ben Roethlisberger Super Bowl card would be terrific additions. Thanks for the contest Panini.

  25. Jamey permalink
    November 26, 2011 4:27 pm

    I dont typically get excited by Hockey cards, it’s the one major sport that I don’t collect. However, the design is beautiful & it’s really well-executed. Sweet card bro.

  26. Jacob Caine (age 14) permalink
    November 26, 2011 8:27 pm

    I would be thankfull if I recieved the Taylor Hall autograph card even though I am a die-hart canucks fan

  27. Jacob Caine (age 14) permalink
    November 26, 2011 8:32 pm

    I am most thankfull for my new 2011-12 Score Winnipeg Jets cards that I have added to my collection

  28. mike permalink
    November 26, 2011 10:23 pm

    I am thankful for all my redeptions cards

  29. Ryan U permalink
    November 27, 2011 12:32 am

    I just got this in the mail on black friday!!! Was so happy when I pulled this redemption at the nationals, very cool looking card with a peice of Lakers throwback jersey worn by kobe bryant :o)

  30. Pete permalink
    November 27, 2011 2:27 pm

    I am thankful for 2011 Panini Certified Football. Great product.

  31. Jerry permalink
    November 27, 2011 3:58 pm

    I would be most thankful to win the Tim Tebow Everything In Between card so I can give it to my son as a gift! He is a huge Tebow fan! He is also a huge Florida Gator fan and loved watching all of the Florida Gator football games with Tebow as their leader! He also loves Tebow’s faith and determination to never give up no matter what the circumstance is! He was so excited when Tebow got his chance to start for the Denver Broncos! He loves watching the Broncos games with Tebow as their starting QB! Tebow is a huge inspiration and role model to my son! My son has been asking for the Tim Tebow Everything In Between DVD for Christmas. With my son’s birthday being on December 29th, I would love to win the Everything In Between Tebow Card so I could hide it inside the DVD I got him! It would truly be the best Christmas/Birthday gift combination! My son would be so surprised to find an autographed card from his favorite football player hidden inside the DVD!!! He loves collecting Panini America Cards! He would be so grateful and thankful to receive this Tim Tebow Everything In Between card to add to his card collection!

  32. November 27, 2011 6:49 pm

    Thankful for family, health and living in the greatest country in the world!

  33. Eric K permalink
    November 27, 2011 7:28 pm

    The card I am most thankful for is a Jeff Skinner Season Highlights autographed and numbered to 25 card. The card was part of the redemption program at the NHL All-Star game last year.

    Panini’s redemption programs are absolutely incredible and provide a great opportunity for collectors to obtain some very special cards. I’m really excited about the Black Friday redemption program and hope I can get some great cards from that as well. I would really be thankful for a Cam Newton card!!!!

  34. Chad Kinzle permalink
    November 30, 2011 10:27 am

    The card in my collection that I am most thankful for is this Monday Night Heroes Aaron Rodgers 3 Color GU #’d 1/25. The real reason that I love it is because it was given to me by my older brother after he pulled it from a box back in 2009. For 2 years I hounded him to trade it to me (huge Rodgers fan) but he wouldn’t cave. My wife and I are expecting our first baby and after the shower he asked me if “I” got anything…of course I didn’t because it’s all rightfully for the baby – then he smiled and handed me a small package that had the Rodgers GU in it with a simple message; “Congratulations”.

    http://tinyurl.com/c5klk7r

    The card above that I would be most thankful to receive is of course the Rodgers XLV GU Ball. The black friday promo was simply phenomenal. To have a unique piece of football history would be an honor and perhaps, just maybe, I’d give it to my brother. Might make him wait a few years first though :)

    Keep up the great work!!!

  35. Rich Sliwinski permalink
    December 4, 2011 9:23 am

    And the winners are………………….?

  36. Jamey Feuer permalink
    December 5, 2011 1:34 pm

    Wow, I thought I had posted this days ago and for the oversight I am seriously apologetic!

    With regard to Rich’s inquiry …. I was one of the winners of the “Panini ’11 Expo” contest. My prize? a stunning 1/1 Mark Ingram 4/C Auto-Patch taken from either his number or name plate. It’s stamped 1/1 and is embossed with ’11 Expo on it, which further enhances it’s value. I want Blog/Vlog members to know that Tracy offered to “customize” the prize, asking me if I collected any specific athlete or set so the prize could be “more you.” I informed Tracy that I had utter confidence in his ability to select something…and he didn’t disappoint! In my experience, that kind of interaction and dedication to the collector is without precedent.

    Without this coming off as an Academy Award acceptance speech, I want to thank Panini, Tracy, Scott etc. I will post the picture AFTER I familiarize myself with photobucket. (I also wish to thank my wife and producer, without who’s support (yeah right) this wouldn’t have been possible, Direct-deposit banking which makes my purchases easier, my LCS…) : )

    • John W permalink
      December 5, 2011 2:48 pm

      LOL – great post Jamey. Great speech ;-)

      And congrats on the prize!

      • Jamey permalink
        December 5, 2011 7:10 pm

        Thanks John!

    • Frank permalink
      December 6, 2011 2:21 am

      Jamey….how did you find out you won?

      • Jamey permalink
        December 6, 2011 7:23 am

        I received an email from Tracy Hackler.
        That said, I haven’t read or seen anything about the Thanksgiving Day contest yet. These guys are efficient and I would expect to see something within a day or so.

  37. Sean permalink
    December 27, 2011 11:42 am

    Any word on who won the contest yet? Going about as fast and with about as much communication as redemptions right now.

    • Dennis permalink
      December 29, 2011 9:40 am

      I got an email from Tracy on Dec 14th, card came today.
      It wasn’t at all the card I had commented on, but who can complain about a free card.
      thanks again Tracy,
      Happy Holidays to all

      • December 29, 2011 7:10 pm

        Got mine today as well. Very happy to win. Thanks to Panini for the free card, even if it was a Packer. lol.

      • James M permalink
        December 29, 2011 9:36 pm

        Got mine as well today. Shows you really appreciate the community by doing these contests. :) Thanks again Tracy and Panini!! Go Steelers!! ;)

  38. shade459 permalink
    December 29, 2011 10:14 pm

    did you winners get emails earlier saying that you won, or did the packages just randomly show up? Thanks in advance, and congrats. I realllly wanted the Taylor Hall!

  39. bruce sims permalink
    December 30, 2011 1:05 am

    Recieved the Sweet patch card of pouncey today! Thanks Tracy.

  40. Matt north permalink
    April 5, 2013 11:27 pm

    I’d be thankful to get the 2012 panini black Steve smith stat line card with the 2 or 3 colored jersey it’s numbered out of 99 it’s an amazing card and I’m a huge fan of smith

Trackbacks

  1. The Card Beat: Sports Collectibles News for November 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,650 other followers

