Skip to content

Panini America Unwraps 2012 Momentum Football . . . And You Can Win the Hits

September 13, 2012

Panini America’s Tracy Hackler and Carlos Torrez sat down Wednesday afternoon to rip through one box of the new 2012 Momentum Football. They had so much fun doing it that they decided to open a second box. You can check out the diverse and entertaining results of their pack-busing binge in this special episode of Panini Unwrapped.

After you’ve watched the video, stick around because we’re going to give you a chance to win some of the hits as well as an unopened box of 2012 Momentum Football.

To be eligible to win, simply answer three simple questions for us in the comments section below:

1. What’s been your favorite Panini America NFL product so far during the 2012 NFL season (Prestige, Elite, Score, Rookies & Stars or Momentum) and why?

2. Which of Panini America’s 2012 NFL products that haven’t released yet are you most looking forward to and why?

3. What’s the one thing you would like to see us improve on or do better in our NFL product line?

As always, your candid, but respectfully delivered, feedback is encouraged and appreciated. This time next week, we’ll randomly select a handful of the best comments to win these sweet cards.

Thanks in advance for your passion and your participation.

157 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 10:36 pm

    1.Rookies and Stars so far I have enjoyed opening the most. I love the variety of the main hits like the jersey autos and the return of the slideshow rookie autos!

    2. I always look forward to Certified! If has been one of my favorite products to bust since 2008! I love the price range its affordable yet still packs the punch like the more expensive products!

    3. As always I would love to see less redemption’s of course. Nothing is more disappointing then breaking open a box and waiting for that main hit you look for and hit being a redemption.

  2. September 13, 2012 10:49 pm

    1. Prestige is great. Completely redesigned the junk from last year and it paid off. I built the base set with all the rookies and plan on passing it down in my family.

    2. I really hope you plan on releasing Totally Certified again this year in basketball and football. Loved the design of the rookie auto jerseys. My Cam Newton I pulled last year is my favorite card I own.

    3. Less of the low round players in high dollar boxes. I can’t tell you how aggravating it is to pull a sixth round practice squad player in National Treasures. I’d rather have a jersey of a pro-bowl calliber player than a scrub autograph/

  3. nick bonge permalink
    September 14, 2012 2:09 am

    1. I really like the rookies and stars. It has the most rookies of any product I have seen
    2. I am looking forward to the national treasures line
    3.I would like to see more of the superstars, early round rookies and legends in the high priced hobby boxes. the auto from mediocre players just are not worth the risk in my opinion

  4. September 14, 2012 2:12 am

    1. Momentum is the front runner hands down…love the multi-colored quad patch autos that are in the set…definitely some of the best stuff out this year.

    2. Waiting on Certified to come out…last year’s was off the chain and i’m sure the RGIII & Luck auto’s are going to be in hot demand.

    3. We buy cases and we have only one complaint and that is that not every case hits one of the star rookies…hopefully you guys can make sure each case has at least one of the monster players…still we support you guys and love Panini products!

    Thanks!

  5. Cristiano Viola permalink
    September 14, 2012 4:55 am

    1- momentum i mean wow
    2- absolute memorabilia
    3- more patches

  6. GRADY MALACHOWSKI permalink
    September 14, 2012 4:56 am

    1. ROOKIES & STARS / THE AUTOGRAPHS
    2. NATIONAL TREASURES / EVERYTHING
    3. NO OR FASTER REDEMPTIONS!

  7. September 14, 2012 6:03 am

    Love Score. The rookie designs are simple and beautiful!

    Certified! It is always so clean and has great hits!

    I’d love a flashback set like Topps Heritage with old and new players that remind us of our youth.

  8. Brady permalink
    September 14, 2012 8:14 am

    1. My fave product so far this year is Rookies & Stars. I had been out of the hobby for a while and on a whim last year I bought some. I had remembered the brand from when I was younger. It just always has and always will be one of my faves along with Crown Royale.

    2. Im most excited about the Panini Black. I probably won’t be able to afford them but they look sharp and clean.

    3. I know it isn’t always feasible but on card autos are so much cleaner than the stickers. Also bring back Crown Royale!!!

  9. Kyle Walden permalink
    September 14, 2012 8:32 am

    1. I would say Elite is my favorite this year because I hit a hometown OSU DeVier Posey auto numbered to 99 which in my book is a nice hit.

    2. I am looking forward to the combo signatures in the Prime Sigs. If they are as good as they are sounding I will be buying quite a few.

    3. I would like to see a NFL product with patches like the ones in 2012 Prime Hockey. Now I know the NHL patches have more detail but big pieces of NFL patches would be sick!

  10. Alan Lam permalink
    September 14, 2012 9:54 am

    1. Elite. The base set is gorgeous and the hits were outstanding. Loved the low numbered die-cut autos!
    2. Panini Certified is the product I’m most excited about. The number of hits, in particular case hits, is unreal. The base set looks great as usual but I love products that give you a shot at a HOFer or a Rookie hit in the same box. Can’t wait!
    3. More products like Timeless Treasures would be nice. I miss Crown Royale. Maybe a version of Prime Cuts for football?!

  11. September 14, 2012 10:50 am

    First, thanks as always to Panini for the great contests and all the work you guys and gals do to bring it to us as early as possible. Here are the answers to the above questions:

    1. Elite edges out Score due to the Rookie Inscriptions acetate auto subset, I make it a point to break Score every year but the addition of that set in this year’s release in addition to the rookies being in their pro uniforms pushes Elite to the early lead.

    2. Certified is usually my favorite set every year so I am most looking forward to it’s release.

    3. Going into the 2012 football calendar I would have said the improvement I would have wanted was to add the player names to redemption cards but you folks read my mind on that one and did it yourselves. So that aside, I would go to continued improvement on anti-pack searching security. I continue to see “hot packs” advertised online which lends to the idea that people are still able to cherry pick packs at a retail level with hits included and rob others of their hobby enjoyment by decreasing the number of hits in packs available in stores. I’m not entirely sure how that would be accomplished but it seems to be an issue that underminds the integrity of the industry and can hopefully be corrected or at least slowed in the near future.

    Thanks again Tracy!

    • jamie hebert permalink
      September 19, 2012 10:35 pm

      excellent point hot pack make me angry! Seeing hot pack makes you realize its not a completely fair search for all of us.

  12. GotPanini? permalink
    September 14, 2012 11:15 am

    1)So far my favorite is Prestige. 2)I cant wait untill asolute football is released! 3)I wouldnt want you guys to improve anything Do What you Do Panini!

  13. {A} permalink
    September 14, 2012 1:29 pm

    1. I like Gridiron the best. The NFL stickers are sweet too!
    2. I think the Panini Black is really cool.
    3. I don’t think there is anything you can improve on. There is just 1 little thing that bugs me though…. the first year of NFL sticker albums, there were 8 stickers in a pack I believe. Now there are only 7. It’s just a little things, but it bums me out because I’m just a kid, and it’s hard to complete the album.

  14. Frank Foster permalink
    September 14, 2012 4:41 pm

    Love the momentum cards. Fantastic work Panini! Thanks for an awesome contest.
    1. My favorite brand so far this year has to be Prestige. I love the rookie autographs and the prime jersey cards. I pulled a tebow prime jersey card #d to 49!!!
    2. I am most looking forward to absolute memorabilia. I love the autographs and jersey cards such as star gazing inserts and gridiorn hogs.
    3. Panini is doing a great job with the card industry, but I would like to see less blank cards and more on card autographs.

    Thanks again for another awesome contest. Great work panini on another marvelous product!

  15. Brett b. permalink
    September 14, 2012 6:34 pm

    1) Rookies and stars because I’ve been collecting the r&s sets for a few years now but momentum looks awesome.

    2) national treasures. Really excited to see the high end hits of luck and rg3

    3) I would really like to see more large swatch patch cards in lower end products (r&s, elite, prestige)

  16. September 14, 2012 8:45 pm

    Wally Brakefield
    1) Elite….love the clear Autos
    2) Certified….seems like a great chance of hitting a great collectors card
    3) I would like to see more combo autographs matching a current or HOF player and rookie from the same team.

  17. Tim Y permalink
    September 15, 2012 2:34 pm

    1) Momentum – 10 packs, 10 hits. That’s a great amount of bang for the buck!
    2) National Treasures – need I say more
    3) Large prime swatches please!

  18. Kevin Chan permalink
    September 15, 2012 3:14 pm

    1 – Elite, tonnes of on card autograph good ness in that box.
    2 – Certified, great oncard rc stuff and the fabric of the game set is always a hit
    3 – big fan of oncard autos, I tend to sway away from the sticker stuff on the secondary market unless it’s on a card # less than 5 where I may not see another copy surface

  19. Roger Blough permalink
    September 15, 2012 9:13 pm

    Super job Panini! Love momentum, can’t wait to start collecting!
    1. My favorite brand has to be Rookies & Stars. I love the jersey and auto designs.
    2. I am most looking forward to prime signatures because of all the on card autos.
    3. I love what Panini does with cards except I would like to see more on card autos and less redemption cards.
    Again, Great work Panini! I will continue to stay tuned. And thanks for such an awesome product!

  20. Hackler man permalink
    September 15, 2012 10:43 pm

    1 – Elite, sick on card autographs, and jerseys in that box.
    2 – Certified, great oncard rc stuff and the fabric of the game set is always a hit
    3 – Totally Certified awesome lots of prime jerseys, rookies and one hit per pack

  21. chelsea permalink
    September 16, 2012 12:14 pm

    1. Prestige, pulled a RG3 base rc this yr :)

    2. Limited, great patch and on card autos in there.

    3. Make it so i can pull a RG3 auto out of every box….i tried

  22. panthersfan89 permalink
    September 16, 2012 11:02 pm

    My favorite 2012 Panini NFL product thus far would be Elite because I opened a box of it last night and got a Cam Newton Status autograph #7/10.

    I am most looking foward to Totally Certified because last year I had spent almost all of my card budget when it came out and could only get a couple packs, but it looked awesome. This year’s Gridiron looks good too, but I have to go with Totally Certified.

    I would like less redemptions. It seems every other or every third box has one. If it isn’t possible to have less redemptions then I would like the turn around time to be faster. It would be nice to have at least 80% of them fulfilled within two months.

  23. September 16, 2012 11:13 pm

    Thank you for the full frontal Momentum! IT is always a pleasure to watch the magic unfold and am still looking forward to hopefully owning a Panini Momentum Stud. I think that what Panini America has done with this throwback is outstanding.
    It has been over 10 years since I have participated in this wonderful hobby. I recently returned home from another deployment as an Infantryman and am now looking forward to becoming an outstanding father and building a great collection for my soon son to be. This is a hobby that should be shared between a father and son, Panini America makes a deserving product that makes this happen.

    1. I believe the Momentum is an oustading product and would love to have a “Stud” or “Printing Plate” from one of my two favorite teams growing up in the San Francisco Bay Area however with my current family situation I am happy with the Prestige series so far and the base Panini Prestige Andrew Luck card I opened last night.

    2. As stated earlier, I am now back into the hobby on my limited military income and my intention is to hopefully build a great collection for my son to be. Although it is a bit of an expensively great value, but definitely not overpriced, I think the Panini Momentum is the greatest series I have seen in the past 27 years and wish to attain at least one box in the near future.

    3. Panini America makes a great product that I am happy to purchase regardless of if it is the retail or hobby line. The Panini Prestige could be a bit stronger on the retail packages as I have purchased over 20 packages, over 800 cards, and still have not obtained an Autographed or Memorabilia card.

  24. michael jacobs permalink
    September 17, 2012 11:39 am

    1.I really like the look of Panini Prestige, simple but nice looking cards.
    2.I am looking forward to Absolute Memorabilia, love the rookie patches, collect them every year.
    3.The best improvement would be less sticker autos and pictures of players in actual uniforms with their number, not 00 or combine uniforms.

  25. September 17, 2012 3:05 pm

    1.Elite is where it is at!
    2.Certified, certified, certified!
    3. On card (BOOOOOO stickers) autos and full card super-mega sick patches!
    You rock Panini!

  26. Michael Oddo permalink
    September 17, 2012 3:39 pm

    1. Stars has been the bomb! The Rookie auto jerseys are better than the manufactured logo autos you had in the past!
    2. Certified and Contenders. Two bang up products that always deliver good hits.
    3. No Combine pics ever! Get rid of the manufactured letters, not a big fan.

  27. Aaron Leavelle permalink
    September 17, 2012 11:22 pm

    1. Rookies and Stars cards are just awesome
    2. definitely national treasures
    3. put more on card autos instead of on stickers

  28. Marcus Freeman permalink
    September 18, 2012 10:02 am

    Great work Panini! Absolutely love momentum!
    1. My favorite brand so far this year is definetly rookies and stars. I love the jersey and autographed card designs, plus I can buy $3 packs:)
    2. I am most looking forward to Absolute Memorabilia coming out. I love everything about it, the war room materials the awesome autographs….
    3. I think you guys could add more on card autos and fewer decoy cards when you put them into packs.

    Thanks again Panini! I will continue to stay tuned…Can’t wait to get some Momentum

  29. Jim Carey permalink
    September 19, 2012 4:21 pm

    Super job Panini! I LOVE Momentum and can not wait to buy my first pack.
    1. My favorite brand so far this year is Elite. I love the autographs of all the rookies, especially the auto variations.
    2. I am most looking forward to national treasures. I love the big logo patches as well as the awesome autographs.
    3. I think you guys could improve buy adding more on card autos and way less blank cards that go into packs. EVERY time I pull a “jersey card pack,” it’s a blank card.

  30. September 19, 2012 7:43 pm

    Were the winners announced?

    • September 19, 2012 8:10 pm

      Not yet. We’ll try to have the winners announced by Friday.

      • Russell Arbogast permalink
        September 19, 2012 8:12 pm

        Please,please let me win something just once!!!! Still would love an auto/memorabilia card from u Tracy

      • rninete permalink
        September 24, 2012 12:30 pm

        Thanks for the update Tracy. Know you are busy. Cheers!

  31. jamie hebert permalink
    September 19, 2012 10:11 pm

    I had alot of fun with the Elite, the clear Inscription cards are the best cards ever in my opinion. On card auto’s, colored ink, and low population.

    Im definetly looking forward to national treasures, was such a classy looking card last year.

    The one biggest improvement to be made, is not being offensive bias. Defensive studs wear jerseys too, an im pretty sure they have patches on them, and most of them can spell their names (haha). Better and more defensive hits! Thanks for listening

  32. John W. permalink
    September 20, 2012 1:09 am

    Great job with Momentum guys! That Andrew Luck triple jersey that Carlos pulled is beautiful and the RGIII case hit that Tracy showed is just amazing. This looks like another super Panini product!

    Here’s my thoughts on the questions you asked.

    1. What’s been your favorite Panini America NFL product so far during the 2012 NFL season (Prestige, Elite, Score, Rookies & Stars or Momentum) and why?
    I would have to say Prestige because I think the design of the cards is so sharp. It has some great inserts and parallels and the the large collection of rookies made it very enjoyable to open.

    2. Which of Panini America’s 2012 NFL products that haven’t released yet are you most looking forward to and why?
    I am really looking forward to Absolute coming out because of the great base and insert designs, the super RPM cards that always look fantastic and the premium inserts like the NFL Shield Signatures and the Rookie Premiere Materials Laundry Tag Signatures.

    3. What’s the one thing you would like to see us improve on or do better in our NFL product line?
    For me, the biggest thing you could do to help me enjoy my Panini football cards would be to do what several people above have suggested: add in more details about the origin of the autographs and memorabilia used on the cards. The wording on the cards has gotten very vague over the last few years and I would like to see you go back to saying something like “this auto was signed in the presence of Panini personnel or sent to us by player X”. On the game or event used memorabilia, it would be nice to say what game or event it came from and give the date.

  33. Jim Carey permalink
    September 22, 2012 10:58 am

    Tracy do you know who the winners are yet?

  34. September 22, 2012 5:06 pm

    Any word on the winners yet… Momentum is one of if not the biggest possible hit box’s of this year, I am stoked to see the results!

  35. pcegelski permalink
    September 23, 2012 4:21 pm

    Hey Tracy,
    Are you going to post the winners here on the blog or notify the winners via email?

  36. Tebow Forever!!! permalink
    September 24, 2012 10:07 am

    Who are the winners?

  37. Ryan M permalink
    September 24, 2012 4:59 pm

    will the winners be announced on this page or is it a new post

  38. September 24, 2012 5:46 pm

    Proving once again that we have the best collectors on the planet, your response to this contest was overwhelming. Thanks for continuing to amaze with your interaction. Alas, we had to narrow down the entrants for this contest via random.org and the winners are:

    Brad Farnum, Bohrisch 11B, hudsonfan15 and Phil W. Congratulations and be on the lookout for an email from us.

    To everyone else, again, thanks so much.

  39. September 24, 2012 8:38 pm

    Roger that! Thank you very much… I look forward to hearing back from you and thank you for providing such a great website for us card collectors!
    Panini America does make one outstanding product for all of us to enjoy, thank you for all of your hard work!

  40. panthersfan89 permalink
    September 25, 2012 7:41 pm

    Oh well. Congrats to the winners! Looking foward to more Panini this season.

  41. GRADY MALACHOWSKI permalink
    October 29, 2012 6:59 pm

    1. certified 2. national treasures 3. less redemptions

  42. January 6, 2013 8:28 pm

    Does the guy who won the Frank Gore plate want to sell or trade it?

  43. GRADY MALACHOWSKI permalink
    January 9, 2013 5:12 am

    1. ROOKIES & STARS
    2. THREADS
    3. FASTER REDEMPTIONS

  44. Rudy Gomez permalink
    February 8, 2013 10:45 pm

    1. Rookies and Stars. It was one of four boxes I broke today and I seemed to get more hits from that box overall than the other three that I broke combined.

    2. National Treasures. I’ve seen box breaks from last year and must admit being in the military there is something to be said about the packaging.

    3. I would like to see your product have rookies in the college uniforms. I know a of collectors don’t really like that. But I have been kind of partial to players in their college uniforms. This is the first year that I am buying cards again since 1999. And admittingly the reason for me coming back into the hobby was SP Authentic’s product. I remember back in the day companies used to put rookies in their college uniforms maybe without logos in the sets. Just a thought.

  45. GRADY MALACHOWSKI permalink
    February 11, 2013 5:15 am

    1. ROOKIES & STARS
    2. NATIONAL TREASURES
    3. LESS REDEMPTIONS!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,463 other followers

