Skip to content

Panini America Provides Final Packout Peek at 2011 Preferred Basketball’s Penmanship

March 6, 2012

Last Friday we leaked the first glorious glimpses of the sublime booklet cards that will drop one per box inside 2011 Preferred Basketball. Frankly, it was one of the most buzz-generating galleries we’ve done on The Knight’s Lance in quite some time. But the one that follows promises to be just as juicy.

As you’re about to find out, we took full advantage of our time inside the Panini America printing facility late last week by also capturing the pre-packout process for Preferred’s stunning autographed inclusions. From the need-no-introduction nature of the product’s Silhouettes and Panini’s Choice Awards to the landmark look of the Preferred Signatures, we caught a glimpse of just about everything last Friday morning.

And we’ve put it all together in a scene-setting multimedia buffet that includes a must-see video starring just some of Preferred’s prime hits and a gallery sure to have collectors coming back for seconds . . . and thirds . . . and fourths . . .

First, the video:

Now, the gallery:

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin C permalink
    March 6, 2012 1:01 pm

    Those are some sick patches. Are the PRIME patch autos all numbered the same, or varied?

    • Kevin C permalink
      March 6, 2012 1:14 pm

      Also, is there an updated checklist?

      For the Silhouettes Auto Jersey/Prime cards, I see Wes Johnson & Landry Fields, but don’t see them included in the original checklist for that subset. I do see they were included in the Crown Royale Autos (but I thought those were going to be without Memorabilia swatches).

      Thanks

  2. Tony permalink
    March 6, 2012 1:18 pm

    What are the Silhouette’s numbered to? Is there going to be prime and regular jersey versions?

    • March 6, 2012 1:30 pm

      Yes, there will be prime and regular versions. I’ll check on the numbering for those.

  3. March 6, 2012 1:53 pm

    Just talked to Keith Hower from the Panini America basketball team regarding some of your questions:

    Silhouettes are numbered to varying quantities from five to 99. Silhouettes Prime are numbered from one to 25. Checklist is coming shortly.

  4. March 6, 2012 2:03 pm

    All I can say is …………..WOW! I don’t do much basketball but after seeing these beauties I think I am going to have to re-think that! I need to go and give this set a try! When are these out? And what would the SRP be on a box? Thanks Tracy! Ya’ll have a GREAT DAY there at Panini!
    Dave

  5. wikipediablackout permalink
    March 6, 2012 2:04 pm

    Wow, those are some unbelievable looking cards. Tracy, can you shoot me an email?

  6. March 6, 2012 2:05 pm

    Sweet mother of pearl. I’d love to preview a box at my shop…!

  7. March 6, 2012 2:48 pm

    Wow I just kept scrolling down and the pictures kept coming. Absolutely stunning release!

  8. March 6, 2012 3:16 pm

    Since there’s no rookies this year can I just pretend that that John Wall is one instead a second year card? 🙂

  9. March 6, 2012 3:30 pm

    I need that Mutombo in my life! Interesting photo selection; Deke shooting a jumper. Didn’t see that often.

    Thanks for the preview.

  10. Tim Y permalink
    March 6, 2012 3:52 pm

    Great stuff. My expectation for Limited just raised a notch after seeing all this patch stuff. Keep up the good work.

  11. March 6, 2012 3:56 pm

    This stuff looks amazing, especially since I’m a big Chris Paul collector. I’ve been hoping for CP3 for a long time. I’m so happy you guys picked him up. Do you know the odds on the jumbo patch autos? Are they going to be like 1 per case? I’m seriously considering buying a box of this stuff, but I’m not sure. Any help is appreciated!

  12. March 6, 2012 5:40 pm

    Good stuff, love that Elliot Williams. I’m probably the only person who will say that aloud with the below average play the Blazers have had this season.

  13. Jamey permalink
    March 6, 2012 6:50 pm

    Those patches are eye-popping and it’s great to see a number of great athletes who are poorly represented in the hobby.

  14. Matt Gilman permalink
    March 7, 2012 4:29 am

    the Silhouettes are simply amazing! Some of the best looking cards in the hobby! Esp the prime versions!

  15. Sport Card Collectors (Like us on Facebook) permalink
    March 7, 2012 4:32 am

    Some more great looking stuff Panini. We may not have many NBA brands out this year, but with ones that look like this…it won’t matter.

  16. March 7, 2012 8:32 am

    All I can say is WOW! Those Jumbo patches and the booklets looks great. I hope JLin will be in this set 🙂

  17. Kwb permalink
    March 7, 2012 8:58 am

    Are the prime patches case hits?

  18. Ryan F permalink
    March 8, 2012 9:32 pm

    I CANT WAIT! When is the release date and price per box?

  19. bahdahnkadahnk@gmail.com permalink
    March 11, 2012 9:15 am

    I don’t understand. Is this preferred or Crown Royale?

  20. arman permalink
    March 11, 2012 12:14 pm

    Is Eric Bledsoe in this product ?

  21. XstreamINsanity permalink
    March 12, 2012 12:48 pm

    Oh how I need/want that booklet. Two Pistons on there!!!!!!!!! I hope this hits the secondary market and I have money at that time. 🙂

  22. Ryan F permalink
    March 17, 2012 1:20 am

    Honestly Tracy,
    What are the chances of pulling one of the cards shown above preferably the Silhouette Prime Patch Card?

  23. March 26, 2012 1:47 pm

    I pulled a Silhoutte Prime of Isiah Thomas /10. Sweet card!!! Fantastic stuff Panini.

Trackbacks

  1. Anonymous

Leave a comment