Skip to content

2012-13 Certified Hockey Stars in a Belated, Must-See Edition of Panini Unwrapped

November 17, 2012

With much of the Panini America hockey team on the road last weekend at the 2012 Toronto Fall Expo (and with our “good” camera in tow), we didn’t really have a chance to film a Panini Unwrapped episode with 2012-13 Certified Hockey when it released last Thursday.

But we aim to make that right today. A few days ago, Panini America’s three-man power play of Scott Prusha, Chris Barr and Matthew Davis, the newest member of the team, ripped through some Certified during a must-see edition of Panini Unwrapped.

And because we feel so badly about being so late, we’re going to award five readers/watchers of The Knight’s Lance with their own box of Certified just for answering two simple questions: What’s your favorite insert set in 2012-13 Certified Hockey and why?

Let us know and this time next week we’ll select five winners from all comments received. Thanks in advance for your participation. Now, enjoy the show.

74 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Tesseneer permalink
    November 18, 2012 5:49 pm

    I love the Path to the Cup insert. Maybe it’s because I’m a Kings fan and just about every game on the way to the Stanley Cup brought me great joy! If only there was a card commemorating the sick hit that Dustin Brown put on Henrik Sedin! I’ll definitely be chasing this set.

  2. Todd M. W. permalink
    November 18, 2012 5:58 pm

    Easily it’s FOTG, especially the prime versions. I was hoping the ‘Goalie Pulls’ were going to be some sort of rip card with the possibility of something good underneath(auto redemption or patch auto?) Not like a ginter rip w/ a mini inside but a printed saying and code saying what you won right on the card like the McDonalds monopoly pieces.

  3. Denise permalink
    November 18, 2012 6:59 pm

    Face off dual sticks are the greatest! Two players and two pieces of hockey history!

  4. Brian permalink
    November 18, 2012 7:31 pm

    I like the goalie pull inserts and the path to the cup. Its awesome how the path to the cup cover each game of the playoffs

  5. Ryan E permalink
    November 18, 2012 8:27 pm

    Add me to the list of fans of the Path to the Cup cards! Memorabilia version is a nice bump to the insert.

  6. Don White permalink
    November 19, 2012 6:09 am

    I will have to go with the Certified Icons Signatures Set Checklis. A awesome list of some iconic star players that will add some serious value to the product. Also, have to love the fact that the Howe is numbered to just 5 copies.

  7. Niklas permalink
    November 19, 2012 12:27 pm

    I am going with the Goalie Pulls, for scoring very high in the creativity department. I also like that set because it remembers me of the good old days (aka the 90s) when goalie insert sets were highly coveted and some of the nicest and most well designed cards you could pull. For these reasons, I would really like the chance to “net” one of these cards myself! Plus with the pull out feature, you can even simulate your own highlight save!

  8. Kchow permalink
    November 19, 2012 1:44 pm

    Definitely the pulling the goalie inserts. Who doesn’t like a huge piece of memorabilia :)

  9. K Chan permalink
    November 19, 2012 1:55 pm

    Great work Chris! Really excited about the Rookie Redemptions, can’t wait to find out what the twist is.

  10. Kyle permalink
    November 19, 2012 2:48 pm

    My favorite insert set in certified has always been the Freshman Fabric Signatures , I love the autographed rookies , I love how they are numbered , And i love how they have the word ” Rookie” that has been Die-Cut out of the card and has a piece of their jersey in the Background of the Die-Cut word !

  11. Tim Y permalink
    November 19, 2012 4:44 pm

    My favourite insert from Certified would definitely have to be the Fabric of the Game – Path to the Cup prime inserts. Some much patchy goodness and recapturing all the post season moments! Second favourite would be the Rookie FF Signatures.

  12. November 19, 2012 5:17 pm

    Certified is one of those sets where it could be of pretty much anything and look great. Garbage men, crossing guards, whatever. I like the idea of the numbering on the front now and also the hot box-specific memorabilia cards to really add to the chase of that one special box per case. Thanks for showing us the new product guys!

  13. RaptorsFan permalink
    November 19, 2012 8:45 pm

    I’m a big fan of Goalies, so I have to go with the Masked Marvel set. I hope I get lucky enough to pull a memorabilia variation. My friend pulled one with the piece from the jersey tag, what a lucky son of a gun :)

    • Olivier permalink
      November 20, 2012 7:30 am

      Have to agree about Masked Marvels – the close-up photography is tremendous. Are there actually memorabilia versions this year? Haven’t seen any of those.

      Also, the Pavelec patch you guys pulled seems like it is from a Winnipeg Jets jersey (as opposed to a Thrashers one). Do you now have game used Jets items in your products? I have only seen event worn stuff (from their rookies). Please let me know! Will have to change my answer to Fabric of the Game if that’s the case ;)

  14. Brad R. permalink
    November 20, 2012 8:41 am

    I love the Face Off cards, very sweet design, and nice big stick memorabilia. Only negative of that subset? No Blackhawks.

    I also like the Path to the Cup series of cards. Although certainly more interesting if your team gets past the first round. I imagine if I was a Kings fan, I’d be all over those Path to the Cup cards.

  15. November 20, 2012 1:42 pm

    Two things I love about the set are the Path to the Cup and the Freshman Fabrics.

    The path to the cup is because I am a huge Devils fan and it nice to have some cards to reflect a pretty decent season where we exceeded most expectations.

    The Freshman fabrics are always a favourite of mine and this season is no different. I love the large swatch size and modern design.

  16. Mphoenix permalink
    November 20, 2012 4:02 pm

    Goalie pulls would be my choice as it’s a neat idea and also the only Certified insert set featuring my PC guy this year. I’m for bringing more acetate cards back to the hobby as they are usually very cool-looking. I’ll also have to give a honorable mention to the Mirror parallels which look nostalgic to someone who used to collect cards in mid-late 90′s when jersey pieces were mostly unheard of and inserts looked shiny and pretty.

  17. Phil W permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:09 am

    I think the Goalie Pulls are the most innovative out of this set. You can’t really execute that kind of idea with other sports in my opinion. Second, I love that all the base cards have foil on them. I think it adds slightly more value to the cards, which makes the consumers get more for what they pay for. All in all, another great product!

  18. Victor Pimentel permalink
    November 22, 2012 1:34 am

    Path to the cup Mem cards and goalie pulls ….. nuff said. as always great stuff.

  19. Kyle permalink
    November 23, 2012 9:32 pm

    The Pulled Goalie cards! Especially the swatch ones are amazing! It was so surprising when I opened a pack of Certified to see Nabokov slide out! Awesome idea Panini!

Trackbacks

  1. 2012-13 Certified Hockey Stars in a Belated, Must-See Edition of Panini Unwrapped - Blowout Cards Forums
  2. Contest Winners Picked; Black Friday Packs Still Available at iCollectPanini.com « The Official Panini America Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,451 other followers

