Skip to content

The Panini America Quality Control Gallery: 2012 Prime Cuts Baseball (85 Images)

November 28, 2012

Imagine my surprise on Monday morning when Panini America Product Development Director Ben Ecklar shared with me 35 revealing images from the 2012 Prime Cuts Baseball quality-control process he’d just completed. Somewhere between Black Friday madness and the launches of 2012-13 Totally Certified Basketball and 2012-13 Prizm Basketball,  I had completely lost track of where Prime Cuts was on the production schedule.

And where it was on this particular day was shipping to distributors and dealers in advance of Friday’s release date.  So I grabbed those 35 images from Ecklar’s iPhone and, over the course of the last few days, I’ve managed to add a more to the following QC gallery.

Simply, the 85 images that follow detail autographs and game-worn memorabilia cards from the greatest players in baseball history as well as some small doses of the game’s future. Many of the images you’re about to see — especially some of the jaw-dropping booklets and bat barrel cards — were taken by Ecklar during the pre-packout process for Prime Cuts.

We’ll have much more to share on 2012 Prime Cuts Baseball right here on The Knight’s Lance in the coming days. Until then, though, we encourage you to sit back and enjoy an unadulterated stroll through hardball greatness . . .

29 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 4:34 pm

    AMAZING!

  2. November 28, 2012 4:40 pm

    OMG! I think I just had a heart attack! These are phenomenal!!! I would take ANY of those..or all of them..lol…or a box!;-) How much are these going to set me back?:-) lol

  3. Lillian permalink
    November 28, 2012 4:42 pm

    WOW !!!!!!! can’t wait ……..

  4. Kurry Ferguson permalink
    November 28, 2012 4:51 pm

    I guess I know where some of my $550 million powerball jackpot will be going

  5. Jamey permalink
    November 28, 2012 5:51 pm

    Every year, Prime Cuts impresses. The Musial bat barrel and Williams booklet are just ill cards. I couldn’t load-up all of the images on my phone, so I’ll bring it up on my laptop when I leave work.
    I expect these to be my last weeks of work as I, personally me and myself, purchased the winning ticket. 2 bucks and a dream bro!

  6. gregmalloy permalink
    November 28, 2012 6:18 pm

    Museum quality

  7. Nick Gauder permalink
    November 28, 2012 6:49 pm

    These cards are AMAZING!!!!! Great job Panini!!!

  8. Lorenz B. permalink
    November 28, 2012 7:26 pm

    Those are Great Looking cards especially the Booklets! There is a Very Special feel to it!
    Tracy would this come to basketball soon?
    Thanks! Good Luck On Everyone for the Powerball!

  9. Ernest Hebert permalink
    November 28, 2012 8:23 pm

    Best I have seen so far this season…..really top notch..Thanks for the great share..

  10. fatcatt permalink
    November 28, 2012 8:25 pm

    Each 2 card pack $150 right now but not in about a week from now…I love how we see all the greats u can get here but not the ones you usually end up with. That aside, those are some great players and nice cards. Wish it was possible to guarantee your money’s worth though.

  11. November 28, 2012 8:38 pm

    I am confident that this product will be as good, if not better, then last year. Prime cuts is the best baseball product around.

  12. geoffgoebel permalink
    November 28, 2012 9:10 pm

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!! These cards are stunning. Tracy I have to say i am literally breathless. now this is taking it to the next level

  13. Eric Cabreros permalink
    November 29, 2012 12:01 am

    Tracy I envy your position!
    You get to meet the players and master all of the sports have to offer. This cards looks amazing. It does matches the name indeed.Hoping this would also glance basketball. 🙂
    Salute!
    Peace!

    • Panini Always permalink
      November 29, 2012 9:51 am

      In agreement with that all the way:) Tracy are there any job openings or applications available? In all seriousness- Thanks again

  14. Vincenzo Lucarelli, Milan permalink
    November 29, 2012 7:40 am

    Really jaw dropping. You at Panini are the happiness of every dentist. Great gallery. Several of these images are worth of any computer desktop. The booklet, the autograph cut and the barrel cards have actually the best design ever seen. Thank you very much, Tracy.

  15. Absalom Whitney permalink
    November 29, 2012 8:08 am

    Can’t wait to pull a prospect I’ve never heard of and an Ozzie Virgil bat sliver for $150.00
    THe first cards pictured are, of course, gorgeous, however 99% of people will be pulling single color Todd Helton Jerseys and No-name “rated rookie” sticker autos.
    2 cards ??

  16. hudsonfan15 permalink
    November 29, 2012 9:42 am

    Very impressive gallery, it will certainly be interesting to see what the average box yields when the product hits the market. Thanks for the preview Tracy!

  17. November 29, 2012 2:39 pm

    I love that Bill Dickey card, he needs more hobby love. The man had 14 World Series rings, 14!

  18. Bailey permalink
    November 29, 2012 9:34 pm

    I really like the way the cards look another great product, cant wait to get my hands on some of that!

  19. November 30, 2012 4:02 am

    Those booklets are really damn nice !

  20. November 30, 2012 1:51 pm

    Tracy – Any idea when the full checklist will become available. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. The Panini America Quality Control Gallery: 2012 Prime Cuts Baseball - Blowout Cards Forums

Leave a comment