Skip to content

2012-13 Signatures Basketball Shines in this Panini Unwrapped Double Feature

July 23, 2013

13_GS_SIG_Blog_Thumb

In this special episode of Panini Unwrapped, filmed on location at the Panini America production facility, Tracy Hackler and Keith Hower bust two boxes of the releasing-tomorrow 2012-13 Signatures Basketball. But before they get to that, the duo also plays catch up by ripping through two boxes of 2012-13 Gold Standard Basketball, too. Oh, and if that wasn’t enough ammunition to make this video true must-see stuff, Hackler and Hower also offer some details on the upcoming 2012-13 National Treasures Basketball.

Sure, it’s a lot to digest in one episode, but we think you’ll find that the payoff is most certainly there. After you’ve watched the video, we want you to leave your candid, but respectfully delivered, feedback on both Gold Standard and Signatures by telling us the thing you like most about each product, and the thing you’d most like to see us improve. We’ll give you a few days to respond and on Friday, we’ll select five winning commenters to award some boxes to. Thanks in advance for your participation. Enjoy the video.

134 Comments leave one →
  1. Vic Singh permalink
    July 25, 2013 7:45 pm

    Both products looked amazing, couldn’t pick a favorite from the two.
    Gold standard as the cool metal cards and the Signatures with those film cards (Jonassss, lets go Toronto)

    Job well done again

    P.S::: 2 PAC Shakur

  2. Brandon H permalink
    July 25, 2013 7:51 pm

    Gold Standard cards look sick….. Really want to put together the Black gold set. Signatures surprised me. The film slides cards are awesome, especially with the added Kobe packs. Awesome job.

  3. double.double permalink
    July 25, 2013 8:07 pm

    GOLD STANDARD
    Gold Standard has really great classy design, from packaging up to the cards, really great design. It makes me want to make a set of the base cards. The variation of the uniform is really a great idea. And yeah the metal cards, wonderful. This is one of the cards to chase for, especially for the rookies. The card also looks robust; it is the right card quality for a high end product like the Gold Standard. The only downside for this card I think is having some of them still in stickers. High end products should be on card, it’s more personal if it is on card. I would suggest that they should add some variation for the metal cards, Like a parallel, put a silver/platinum/titanium. All in all, great great design.

    Panini Signatures
    Classic Design, I really love the on card autos. The auto on top of the white/gray background is really bold and clear. Wow! Another thing, these cards were low numbered, right this packs a punch, its loaded. But one of the quality that I really love about this pack is the die cuts. That was really an extravagant design. Clean card with a clear auto and a Die cut. Absolutely a winner! the colored area(Players action picture and the grayscale area is really a great combination. Plus Auto + die cut + FIlm) Woohoo!

  4. July 25, 2013 10:19 pm

    Really great job on both products love the way they look.
    Gold Standard: I really like how you guys made the number of teams a player has played for factor into the number of cards it just makes everything very unique. I also thought you could’ve maybe made the player action poses of the front of the metal card in color that would’ve been pretty cool.
    Signatures: I like that the card numbers are all around pretty low and the different varieties the cards come in. I also thought maybe there should’ve been a little more color on the cards just a little too much white for me.
    Overall they look great keep up the good work.

  5. Jeffery permalink
    July 25, 2013 11:01 pm

    Hey Tracy, thanks for the video! I enjoy watching box breaks as usual. I don’t think my comment went through but I wanted to make sure you guys got my feedback too! I believe if us the collectors can give input on our thoughts in products, its a double win for the collector and the company as we can both end up with something we like.

    What I like about Gold Standard: Truthfully my favorite product ever since it was introduced (but Prizm/Select is a competitor now lol), I like the Gold colored theme and feel to it. This year adding the metal cards are nice. I’m glad that consideration was taken by adding the plastic covers on it to make sure it doesn’t scratch. I also selectively like how Nash has a Mavericks variation in the base! I’m having a hard time locating them though, must be short print lol, trying to get my hands on one. Aside from that, the video with the Pistol Pete making card was really cool. The best part about this year’s GS has to be the On-card auto of the majority of the cards it seems, and the metal cards.

    For Signatures, I’m not a huge fan of the design (seems too little color compared to other releases) but I like the film cards, mostly because it reminds of the Film cell cards you can get for other cards (like movie/entertainment cards). It’s a nice touch, and I’m glad that a good bit of the Signatures autos were on card, but the placement of some of the sticker autos is questionable. But it’s definitely great how some of the boxes are promising 5 cards too instead of 4. (That 1/1 King James pull is still crazy! lol)

    That being said, GS rates above Signatures for me. If Signatures could bring a little more color in a different way than the rectangle of the player at the bottom, I think it would be better (similar to a Contenders auto release but on-card instead of sticker). Two pictures of the player on one card seems really crowded.

  6. July 26, 2013 3:23 am

    Gold Standard is one of the iconic Panini products, and it is a perfect product for the iconic Pistol Pete Prime Patchs. I also like the increased Bullion Brand tags in this product giving us more opportunities to hit some nice tags, and the variation player cards are a cool addition to the hobby. The metal cards are awesome and one metal card per box is great but numbering the cards to more than 1/1 or putting some autos or even patches on the metal cards would make them even more collectible next year! Overall, little bit of last year mixed with some new designs makes this a solid product. (Ideas: Make collecting this product like a Gold Rush with parts of a card to complete a larger image, Team Features: Golden State Warriors, Purple and Gold – Lakers, Golden Nuggets)

    The Signatures product is a cool, and upgrade of Momentum. The reel cards are definitely the highlight of this product and I can’t wait to get one. I also enjoy the concept of chase cards. As for improvement, the low numbered cards are cool but more variety would be nice like different die cuts or maybe special inscriptions like signature dishes or signature moves.

    Also, I’d like to see some pulls that have opportunities for meet and greet with players or experiences.

  7. Nick Mikulicich Jr. permalink
    July 26, 2013 5:08 am

    Gold Standard cards are beautiful. I really like the jumbo memorabilia swatches. I don’t like the variations on certain base cards. This is a high-end set. You don’t need to split the print run of some of the cards like this.
    Signatures appears to offer great value, and I’m impressed with what I see of the possible autographs. However, the base card design for non-rookie current players is downright ugly. The skinny color picture to the side of a large white background with a black and white picture looks ridiculous – and not in a good way.

  8. lostones permalink
    July 26, 2013 6:49 am

    Gold Standard
    The good
    - love the look of the base cards
    - base card variations are a fun chase
    - the black gold patches are just stunning
    - solid gold cards really help drive people to bust boxes
    - metal cards are cool
    - bullion tags are nice
    - just love the look of all the inserts and cards.. love the gold glossy look
    - overall, just a lot of sets to chase and its by far my most favourite product to date (NT may change that)

    The bad
    - sticker autos
    - not bad, but the actual cards with gold in them aren’t that appealing to me.. maybe do something where the nba logoman or team logo is in gold.. make them rare, but not 1/1 unless its the logoman
    - undecided if i think the metal cards should be one per box or not, i would have probably liked them more if they were more rare (and auto versions would be super cool)

    Signatures
    The good
    - love the different colour of the writing for each variation.. like really really love that
    - love die cuts, wish there was a base parallel instead of just auto parallels
    - great to see penny in an orlando jersey
    - great design
    - awesome cards when the auto is on card
    - film set is cool

    The bad
    - I dont think the box offers great value
    - not a lot of variation in the sets, not much to chase
    - sticker autos hurt such a beautiful design
    - dont like the number of variations for each player.. not fun for a player collector
    - green /5 parallel should be reserved for some products
    - didnt like the film set parallels.. seemed like a set that didnt need parallels
    - overall, I think this is one of the weaker products in the line up…. didnt like the configuration.. the experience of opening this product just isnt fun enough with limited variety

    thanks for the contest though!

  9. Sport Card Collectors permalink
    July 26, 2013 9:57 am

    Never busted any Gold Standard in my life. The images are always incredible. The product straight up glistens. I would do anything just to be able to tough the outside of a box of it lol.

    I like the memorabilia actually in the product. The way the cards are designed and shine they take even a single color swatch and have it jump out at you. Just simply amazing.

    And the chance to pull actually GOOOOLLLD in a card..just sick

  10. Dennis permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:16 am

    Gold Standard:

    + Metal cards
    + 1 Printing plate per box
    + Nice gold design
    + Team variations of the players
    + Nice design of the box

    - Use a different design for the parallels, it looks a lot like the base cards now.

    Signatures:

    + Film cards!!
    + Low numbered cards
    + Nice design

    To be honest I don’t have a real negative point about this set. If I have to come up with one I would say the sticker autographs…

    Overall, I really like both of the boxes and especially the Gold standard cards!

    Thanks for the contest!

    Greetings from the Netherlands!

  11. July 26, 2013 10:56 am

    Really like the gold cards in Gold Standard, Classy, simple and like Auric Goldfinger said…”Heavy”
    The signatures looks awesome. The base cards seem very stylish and there are a lot of nice sigs, too.
    But national treasures… WOW.

  12. July 26, 2013 11:04 am

    This years Gold Standard is probably the best yet, I opened a box couple days ago at my Local Hobby Shop, and let me tell you the Metal Cards are definitely the standout of the box, there amazing in person absolutely beautiful cards and the way they feel, No matter what sport you collect I definitely recommend having one of these cards in your collection. As Usual I also really like the relic autographs, I like autograph cards and I like relic cards but I love autograph relic cards whether its a patch autograph or even a jersey card I think it makes the card a lot cooler. Honestly, I don’t think you have to improve anything, but if you could I would add more veterans and current stars autographs. In todays collecting some people ONLY collect one person whether that being Kobe Bryant or Kyrie Erving they all want some big cards in there on average per case. Or possibly even to a higher level ide say add Gold Standard Baseball. I collect 90% baseball and I would love to see a Gold Standard baseball. I think that would be an instant hit.

    This years Prime Signatures is a new product and personally I havnt opened a box, however I have seen a box get opened at my card shop, and lots get opened on youtube by Chris, the Hobby Box Owner. I really like two different things about prime signatures this year. One being that every box is guaranteed a veteran/current star/etc autograph really makes it a better product I think because some boxes those are the cards that stand out. Another thing I like is as seen in the video, is all the different variations of autographs, example 3 autographs 1 numbered to 25, 1 numbered to 50, and another numbered to 5 or 10. To me as a collector that makes the card better and a lot cooler, knowing that only you and 9 or 4 other people have this card. If you could improve anything I would definitely say add some chase cards or even on average case hits. Such as dual, triple, or even quad autograph cards. Possibly even add redemptions for 8 way autograph booklets with different variations such as “Rookies” “Current Stars” and ofcourse “Hall of Famers”. If case hits like those were in this product it would give people more of a reason to open the product, like when they are opening the product they say “Im really looking for one of the triple autographs” just something like that.

    As usual, Thank You VERY VERY much, Tracy and Panini.

  13. Dewey Molenda permalink
    July 26, 2013 5:45 pm

    Gold Standard-
    The Gold Standard seems like a very solid product and, like its name infers, it is sure to be as sought after as gold, but on the other hand, the product is also just standard and seems to run of the mill.

    Signatures-
    WOW! This product seems incredible. The autos look amazing and the film cards are easily one of the most interesting inserts in any product ever. Although it is out of my price range this is easily the coolest product I have seen for at least a year.

  14. kris permalink
    July 27, 2013 3:06 am

    its impossible to find basketball of any sort in my town. would love just one basketball auto to add to my collection. those signatues and gold standard are the best looking basketball I ever seen. the cell card is one of the coolest things I ever seen

  15. Filip P permalink
    July 28, 2013 3:13 pm

    When will the winners be revealed, and the Score Hockey Unwrapped video uploaded? :D

    • Alex permalink
      July 28, 2013 8:25 pm

      I second that comment! I’m jittery with excitement and anticipation of the winners??

  16. Chris Knight permalink
    July 31, 2013 4:51 pm

    I know you guys are busy with the National Convention, but when can we expect to find out about the winners?

    • August 1, 2013 12:42 am

      Really sorry for the delay on this one. We’ll get winners selected in the next day or so. Thanks for your patience.

      • Alex permalink
        August 1, 2013 8:15 am

        It’s no big deal a lot of other products and panini events seemed to follow this! We are happy following all the other things that are keeping you busy! Thanks for the update Tracy!

  17. PEISpud permalink
    July 31, 2013 5:07 pm

    These two products are incredible this year!! For gold standard. I loved the metal cards. Such a great design. For signatures…. Wow what can I say. Simply an unreal product with the film cards. Amazing job guys keep it up!!

  18. KidCardCollector permalink
    August 1, 2013 4:20 pm

    I love these two products!!! I love how in gold standard you are guaranteed one printing plate and metal card per box. For signatures, wow just wow!!!!! It is amazing with all of the sick cards you can get like film cards! Good job panini

  19. August 5, 2013 2:56 pm

    I hope I won I hope I won I hope I won I hope I won I hope I won!!!!!!!!!

  20. harynjk permalink
    August 6, 2013 6:42 am

    Hope to see the winners to be announced soon! :)

  21. August 7, 2013 1:57 pm

    Any winners yet???

  22. August 8, 2013 11:02 am

    First, I’ll start by saying a huge “I’M SORRY FOR BEING SO LATE WITH THE WINNERS.” Being on the road with so much going on caught up with me. So again, my apologies. Having said that, thanks a ton for the great feedback. Congrats to our winners this time around: Richard Sandanam, Nate Goleman, Martins and Ross. We’ll be in touch to get your addresses. Thanks again.

    • August 8, 2013 11:03 am

      Congrats to the winners!!

    • harynjk permalink
      August 8, 2013 2:00 pm

      Congratulations for the winners!

      By the way, isn’t it only 4 winners? You wrote at the end of the entry: “we’ll select five winning commenters to award some boxes to” :)

    • Richard Sandanam permalink
      August 8, 2013 2:27 pm

      Thanks so much Tracy! I look forward to busting those boxes!

    • Andrew McKay permalink
      August 8, 2013 8:04 pm

      Congrats to the winners good luck with the hits.

      • Jeffery permalink
        August 9, 2013 1:25 pm

        Congrats to the winners!
        Great time at National Tracy! thanks!

  23. Jeffery permalink
    July 24, 2013 1:05 pm

    I want to add, after seeing some of the box breaks of Signatures Basketball today, the film cards are really cool looking!

Trackbacks

  1. 2012-13 Signatures Basketball Shines in this Panini Unwrapped Double Feature - Blowout Cards Forums

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,582 other followers

